Lemons into sunshine

Image

What do you do when life hands you a heaping bowl full of lemons and disappointments?

My lemons have been a messed up paycheck, stressful work environment, my dad not doing well/still on the mend, headaches almost everyday for me, a series of disappointments and just generally feels as if nothing can go right at the moment. 

Well what do you do, first I had myself a nice cry. Ok who are we kidding I had many nice cries and just felt sorry for myself. Now what?

As Jo Dee Messina’s songs says – 

Another day has almost come and gone
Can’t imagine what else could go wrong
Sometimes I’d like to hide away somewhere and lock the door
A single battle lost but not the war 

This is how I felt on Friday – so when I got in my guess what I happened to have this song in there and listened to it about five times and sang along and tried to take Jo Dee’s advice in the song. Here it is: 

I’m not gonna let it get me down
I’m not gonna cry
And I’m not gonna lose any sleep tonight (’cause)

Tomorrow’s another day
And I am not afraid
So bring on the rain

Image

Good advice right? Well I think it is time to make some changes. Let’s see what I can do.

I am trying to change the job situation whether it be a new job, a raise, and doing some things from home in the evenings to supplement my income. 

My dad is getting stronger and better – I just have to remember he will have some bumps in the road along the way and not dwell on those but look at the good progress he has made. 

As for my headaches, I need to try to work on not letting stress get to me as much and maybe some of the headaches will not happen. 

Until the changes can all come around I need to learn to lean on friends for help with the positive thinking, use their shoulder to cry on and their ear to vent to.

So here goes, I am going to think of the positive things in my life: I have a family that loves and supports me. A roof over my head and food on the table. Friends who let me rant, rave and cry as needed and not judge me. Cute and cuddly animals at home. My love of books and great authors that let me review their books. I win lots of books or receive them from publishers and authors. I am alive and have no major health issues. When you start looking you will find that you have many things to be positive for. 

What are some things you do when you are down that can bring you back up? Don’t forget to stop and smell the roses or whatever flower you love. Keep your chin up!

Image

 

One thought on “Lemons into sunshine

Leave a Reply

