Obsessions

Image

Obsessions can be good or bad depending on how you look at them. In my case I don’t consider them bad as I don’t let them consume by life, they just give me something to look forward to. Sometimes I think our obsessions go along with the fads of the times. Let me tell you about a couple of mine.

One of my obsessions is a couple of sayings, that I love. The first is Live, Laugh, Love. I don’t know what it is about this saying but it just makes me calm and think about family. I have many different things in my home with this saying on it. To me this is a good motto to live by. Live Well, Laugh Often, and Love More. The second saying I love is Keep Calm and Carry On. This saying was originally introduced in 1939 by the British Government to raise public morale during the war. I think if you keep this in the back of your mind during stressful situations it will help you out. It is kind of fun to read all the different versions of this saying as well.

If you know me at all you will know my biggest obsession in life is books and reading them. You can never have too many books. Usually I can’t go into a bookstore without coming out with a least one book. I also belong to an online book club (ok maybe a couple, but I am very active in one), I have a database on my computer and phone to keep track of all the books I own, I have a blog to do reviews as well as to keep track of all the books I read in a year, I enter contests to win books on a daily basis, I love talking about books and I never leave home without a book. If you see me you will know a book is not far away. Books don’t hurt you, reading is a healthy addiction, reading can be an escape or stress reliever and books are educational. I have been obsessed with books since I was a kid and will never stop. When I am upset getting a new book cheers me up. If a book is part of a series I have to have the whole series or I get the shakes (ok, not literally). Don’t ever ask me to go without a book or mess with my books or there will be  trouble.

My last obsession I am going to mention is tv shows. I love the Bravo channel’s Real Housewives series. I like to call it non-reality – reality tv because you know they don’t show you everything and the make more drama out of things than is necessary. I even buy magazines as they might have something about one of the wives in there and I don’t want to miss something. Crazy right?

My latest tv obsession is Downton Abbey. Yes I have jumped on the bandwagon. I can’t get enough of it. I am finally caught up to the current episode of the show and find myself thinking about the people downstairs daily and what is going on with them. I have bought two books so far (yes only two) to learn more about the real life Downton Abbey (Highclere Castle). I have even told my daughter I want all three seasons for my birthday and Christmas so I can watch them again. I would even love to write a book about the people downstairs but don’t really know how to go about it. Oh and how about going to visit Highclere Castle wouldn’t that be great. Well for now I will have to dream. I don’t know what I find so fascinating about them.

I think some obsessions can be healthy just don’t let them become so overwhelming that they take over your life then you will be ok.

So what about you? What are some of the obsessions you have? Do you let them consume you?

Leave a Reply

